Texas Drivers License Practice Test

Test your knowledge of Texas driving laws with our free online Texas drivers license practice test. This quiz will evaluate your knowledge of the Texas rules of the road to determine if you are to take the DPS written test for your learners permit and/or drivers license.

The DPS practice test covers approximately 36 questions. Questions and answers are taken directly from the Texas driving handbook. Use this test as often as needed to help prepare for the written test.

At the end of the test, you will have an opportunity to see how well you did, including a review of the questions asked, your answer, and the correct answer. This important feedback will help you learn the answers to questions missed. If you like this practice quiz, be sure and let your friends know about it on social media.

How well do you know your Warning Signs?

Test Summary

Number of Questions: 36

Answer Correctly: 26

Passing Score: 70%

Rate This Test

Average Rating
Based on 24 votes.

...
Loading

Texas Driving Handbook

The Texas Department of Public Safety offers free drivers handbooks at their offices throughout Texas. The handbook is comprehensive and every question you can expect to see on the DPS written test is derived specifically from this handbook.

A digital copy of the handbook can be found online here. Our free permit test includes questions and answers you may expect to see on the actual DPS quiz.  DPS offices keep several versions of the written test on hand.  All of the questions on the actual test are derived from the handbook.  The questions on our practice test reflect a sampling of what you might typically see on the actual test, but can vary.

Texas Department of Public Safety

Questions People Frequently Ask

How many questions are on the drivers license test in Texas?

There are forty questions in multiple choice format on the Texas DPS written exam. DPS offices keep several versions of the test at each office and each one varies slightly in the questions presented.

All of the question on the quiz are taken from the Texas drivers handbook and cover rules of the road and traffic safety signs.

How many questions are on a drivers permit exam?

The permit exam and the drivers license test are one in the same and includes forty questions in multiple choice format.

Can you take your permit test online in Texas?

Yes.  Our Texas adult driver education course includes the DPS written test in the online course.  The adult course includes six hours of interactive training with practice tests that help you determine how well you are retaining the content.  At the end of the six hour online course, you take the actual DPS written test inside the course.  90.2% of our students pass the test on the first try, but you have up to three attempts.  If for some reason you do not pass the first time, you can go back and review the online course material.

Once you complete the final DPS test in our Adult course, there is a place in your login account where you can print your ADE-1317 certificate instantly, or request to have a copy mailed to you.  Present your ADE-1317 certificate to your local DPS office as proof that you have taken and passed the written test.  Your DPS office has a list of approved course providers, including ours (Virtual Drive of Texas) and will know your certificate is from an approve provider.

How does an 18 year old get a drivers license in Texas?

Adults between the ages of 18 and 24 years of age are required by Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to complete a six hour Adult driver education course.

Here are the steps to get your Texas drivers license at 18:

  1. Enroll in an approved online Adult Drivers Ed course.
  2. Complete the six hours of online training.
  3. Pass the final DPS written test in the course.
  4. Print, or have mailed, your ADE-1317 driver education certificate and take to your local DPS office.
  5. Take your eye exam at the DPS office.
  6. Determine if you want to take the DPS Road test (if you are ready) and schedule, or, request a Texas learners permit where you can legally practice driving with a licensed adult 21 or over in the passenger seat, until you are ready to take the road test.
  7. Pass the DPS road test.
  8. Receive your Texas Drivers License.

What do you need to do to get a permit?

For teens under the age of 18, see our Parent Taught page.  For adults between 18 and 24:

  1. Enroll in an approved online Adult Drivers Ed course.
  2. Complete the six hours of online training.
  3. Pass the final DPS written test in the course.
  4. Print, or have mailed, your ADE-1317 driver education certificate and take to your local DPS office.
  5. Take your eye exam at the DPS office.
  6. Request to be issued a Texas learners permit so that you can legally practice driving with a licensed adult in the passenger seat, until you are ready to take the final DPS road test.

Do you need to make an appointment to get your driving permit?

No, not in Texas.  Depending upon the time you arrive though, and how large of an area your local DPS office serves, you can expect to wait upwards of an hour or more.  The DPS office tends to be busiest late morning and during lunch (when people use their lunch hour to take care of DPS business), and late afternoon (when people will often take off work an hour early to go to the DPS.  For the DPS road test, most offices require that be scheduled ahead of time due to the limited number of officers available for testing.

How old can you drive in Texas?

In Texas, 15 with a learners permit and accompanied parent or legal guardian. 16 with a provisional drivers license, unaccompanied.

How old do you have to be to get a drivers license in Texas?

A provisional drivers license can be issued at the age of 16, providing the following conditions are met:

  1. Student has completed the online classroom AND behind the wheel drivers training.
  2. Student has received their DE-964 driver education certificate from their course provider.
  3. Student has held their Texas learners permit for at least six months.
  4. Student passes the eye exam.

This is why most students begin the Parent Taught course right as they turn 15 years of age.  The course, at moderate pace, will normally take 4-6 months to complete.  During this time, the student will have a drivers permit.  By the time they reach their sixteenth birthday, they will have met all of the conditions above and go to their local DPS office to receive a Texas provisional drivers license.